Few weeks back my main PC dumped on me. And did so taking more than 1 component.
I’m pretty sure I narrowed it down to lightning.
The last time it worked was before the storm which caused multiple outages.

The Motherboard ,Video Card & main HDD “Seagate 1TB Hard Drive”.
Luckily the computer is 14 months old and the Hard drive has 5 year warranty, EVGA gives a 3year warranty for their video cards and the ASUS Mainboard also offers 3 years.

Seagate offered the best RMA it offers an advanced RMA option which costs $9.95 and they send the replacement 2-day shipping and arrives with the box and a pre-paid shipping sticker for UPS.
Went ahead and tried to recover as much as I could from the bad HDD and mailed it back to Seagate today July Saturday the 26th 2014. I ended up recovering about 80% more than I hoped for.

The Video card was mailed out to EVGA using USPS- US Postal Service. Which cost me $19.88 to ship they only offered 2 options the cheaper was only $3 less. I wanted the Tracking and Signature verification. I sent a Geforce GTX 680 out not a cheap Vcard.
Turn around time was also good the card arrived on Monday and I had the replacement the next Monday.
EVGA was unable to replace with the same video card 680 and sent me a GeforceGTX 770 Super Clocked. I sent in the GeforceGTX 680 Super Clocked Signature 2 Series Video card.
Immediately I contacted EVGA why would they send me a 770?? Shouldn’t I get the 780?
Well as Warranty states “•Products sent in for RMA will be repaired or replaced with a product deemed to be of equal or greater performance by EVGA if an exact replacement is not available.”

The 770 Super Clocked although costs about $100 less actually performs better than the 680. And it does perform better I am not complaining:-)

ASUS RMA also went smoothly was mailed out same day as the Video Card and arrived Tuesday the day after I got Video card.
PC was down for a total of 12 days not to bad. If it was my only PC it probably would have been harder to get through.

Today I decided to go ahead and use my old Geforce GTX 260 as a dedicated PhysX card. Did some reading prior to making this decision and was a mixed bag of it’s great or it’s not going to add extra frames.

Well I added the 260 as dedicated PhysX.
This is not a good idea if you don’t have good air flow and a full size tower.
Also requires a 1000 Watt or better power supply.
The 260 and 770 use a lot of juice I use a dedicated 500Watt PSU for the 770 and the 260 connects to the main PSU which is $750 Watts.
At idle the 260 runs @ 42c with the GPU/PhysX fan set to 75% at all times. Remember the 260 isn’t being used for any video just PhysX and runs hot.
The 770 runs idle @ 35c GPU fan is always on auto.
In Farenheit 42c=107.2f
35c=95f

In game those temps rise a lot.
260-74c=165.2
770-67c=152.6 that’s a combined temp of 317.8f people cook meals @ 325f.
Not to mention the CPU heat and chipset,Hard Drives and Memory.
Point is don’t bother if you have a mid size case or smaller it would melt down quickly.

Leave a Reply

