Playstation Vita Release date Today :) 02/22/2012

Well the PS Vita is the very 1st handheld to ever catch my eye and make me want to spend my hard earned $$ on.

I did purchase the DS & DSi and won a PSP in a raffle which I traded for a PC later down the road. Then Bought my Son one for X-Mas it’s what he wanted.

The DSi’s were gifts to my daughter and I got them for super cheap from a friend spankin new in the box. I’ve never been much impressed with handhelds. Today there is a whole lot more competition for Handheld game systems form Nintendo & Sony with Iphones,Android Tablets & cell phones and let’s not forget the over priced Ipad 1 or 2.

I do have a Gtablet 10.1″ Android w/ Tegra hardware:) And also carry a HTC 4G cell phone so why was I so interested in the Vita? Well simply put it’s a dedicated handheld that has PS3 graphics and talks to the PS3 when they are both on.

At first glance of the new Vita I was simply amazed it feels great in your hands has 2 analog sticks a D-pad and the Screen is a good size that does a decent resolution of 960×554 on a very colorful and sharp picture from the OLED screen it sports. PS Store is on it fully functional can download apps or games from either your PC or PS3 or from the Vita. And The back of the Vita is touchsensitive as well:) It has a solid 4 -Core CPU “Cortex-A9” in it. My Desktop has a quad! VERY COOL:)

Can purchase it as Wifi only for $249.99 or for $50 more can get the Wifi + 3G which at this point the 3G is for AT&T only. “If Sprint had been in the cards I would have spent the extra $50”. Of course it has tilt sensitve like todays Tablets have And does have Blutooth as well. So far have only installed Netflix there is not much in the App store at this time but from what I understand it will change quickly. Also Have heard that you will be able to play yopur PS3 games on it from the PS3 after a software update that may ot may not be coming. But I do think this will happen only because Nintendo is already on that with thier new console coming late this year. Sony would surely like to get that to market 1st.

The Vita has no built in drive for storage and of course Sony wasn’t going to allow regular Micro SD Cards to be compatible so you have to buy a Sony card made for the Vits I believe at this time they have 4gb,8gb &16GB I ended up getting to Walmart at around 1:15 and all the cards were gone except the 4GB one I got what was there some storage is better than none. The Vita is limited on initial release most stores only got 8-10 per store. Walmart only had 3-Wifi +3g and 2-Wifi only handhelds left.

Only game I purchased at this time is Uncharted Golden Abyss I am a super fan of the Uncharted series. Some review sites give it a 8.0 others 7.0 because of the controls. I did not find it awkward or hard to play Uncharted on it. While some of the controls are gimmicky because Devs are trying to make use of tilt and touch screen. Still find the game to be a good experience and the graphics are bar none the best i’ve ever seen on a handheld system and that includes any game on Ipad2 or Android using Tegra 2 or 3. It really does look damn close to the PS3 version if not exact.

I haven’t put much time into the new Uncharted so I can’t say how good the story line is but from what I did play i’m not disappointed:-)

In my opinion it’s great and would recommend. But not everyone will like it…Beauty is in the eye of the beholder . Also looking forward to see if it hacks well.

Update 02/23 : When I wrote this I really didn’t speak about the User interface the Vita has.  The interface is not like the PSP or PS3 the 2 of them are very similar the Vita is setup as a touch interface using icons that are round “bubble like” The touch sensitive back of course does not effect the user interface at all.

There is the normal icons like settings that allow you to update & of course set language, time and things of that nature. I haven’t found a calibrate screen in settings this would be a welcome feature touch is not off or anything it seems to be accurate but shit happens one day it may need calibration.

Here’s the list of bubble Icons you will see on 1st start up. Welcome Park,Party,PS Store,near,Friends,Group messaging,Trophies,Photos,Browser,Music,Videos,Remote play,Content manager,Maps,settings. Most of the Bubbles icons are self exlanatory so I won’t comment on those.

Welcome park is an app that has a few different small tutorials that use each of the Vitas functions like tilt  ,Mic ,touch, camera’s 2 since there is a front facing cam and one on the back.

The one App I really thought was cool is the Near application. It pin points your location not exact but in the city nearest your point of location. If you clickon Out & about Touch Topping the charts and it will show you what other Vita players are playing in your local city. It finds other players and shows the game they are playing or have played and shows you how far away they are and stuff pretty cool feature.

Near is a location apllication that lets you know what others play it may be a bit more than that i’ve only touched the surface of the near app. There is a web browser installed as well it does not support Flash no such luck:( To zoom in on web page it’s like a tablet use 2 fingers and move them apart and it will zoom in so it’s easier to read or view pictures on the web page.  Content manager basically is for connecting to a PC or your Playstation 3 to transfer downloads or videos between them to your Vita. That’s about it as far as pre installed apps go. I’ve stated in my blog already that there is very little apps to download from the PS store for the vita. At this time there is only 3 apps Netflix,Flickr,Facebook,Live Tweet and options to buy  different covered warranties. In store there are a few demos ,some media which is mostly videos of in game footage and PS Vita launch video.

Leave a Reply

