The Coby Kyros MID8024 Tablet

Received the Tablet a few weeks back wanted to play with it quite a bit before saying anything about it.

The Look & feel of the tablet.

It is actually very slick looking not cheap feeling either has a bit of weight to it not to heavy but not to light to make it feel like a chepo tablet.

Actually it took a dump and hit the ground cement flooring that is tiled and while it did get a tiny dent on the corner of the casing which is not noticable unless you are right up on it and looking for it. still works like a charm so appears to be quite tough.

The screen is 8.0 inch touch screen not dual touch unfortunately but it works well and the color is fantastic. Uses Resistive touchscreen.

Android 2.2

1.0 Ghz  Samsung S5PV210 (Cortex A8)

Built-in 4GB/Expandable up to 32GB using a Micro SDcard

8.0″ Resistive touchscreen “800×600” Resolution

WiFi 802.11 b/g

Audio Input Mic
Audio Output 3.5mm Headphone Jack & Built-in Speaker
Video Output High Speed HDMI, type C (mini), Supports 1080P and 720P
USB Port 2.0 Hi-Speed

Compatible with Microsoft® Windows® XP, Vista, 7 or higher and Mac OS or Linux in mass storage mode.

Weights, Measurements & UPC
Unit Dimension (WHD) 8.11″ x 0.55″ x 6.22″
Unit Weight (LB) 1.17
Package Dimension (WHD) 10.94″ x 2.28″ x 8.78″
Package Weight (LB) 2.19
Master Carton Qty 4

If you shop around it can be found for $199.99.

It is sold at HSN for $199.95 and you can put it on 4 Flexpayments so your initial payment will only be  49.98 + S&H and taxes. Then after that only 3 more monthly payments of $49.98. And yes you get the tablet after you pay the 1st payment of 49.98$ + S&H & taxes.  I did the Flexpayments myself and after calling it in I received my tablet 7 days later:) With a 30 day money back gurantee at HSN it’s well worth the purchase and to try. I don’t think 1 person will return it after actually getting it though.

I can say it works well plays all videos,runs office apps great, Reads E-books of all kinds and i’ve even downloaded a Comic book reader and read all of the Walking Dead comics 1-84:)

Played a few games without issue even old playstation games Final Fantasy 7 and Crono Cross & Installed n64droid and played Mario64 and Zelda at full frame rate:) Pretty cool for a device a little over $200!

Connected to my 52″ LCD Television through HDMI and it displayed at 1080p as stated in the manual and it played smoothly. The battery holds up quite well I haven’t timed it or anything but I know i’ve watched a movie read 20 comics and surfed the nets without having to charge it until I went to bed. I also downloaded a Battery application to save on battery useage. Seriously I recommend this to anyone who is unsure about spending $500+ on a Ipad. I can only say that the Coby Kyros does everything I need it to do and more without issue well worth the price and I don’t think you’ll get anything better at this price point & quality.

The one downside to the Coby is there’s no MarketPlace they use a application called AppsLibrary. But if your feeling up to it there are instructions at Coby’s site on how to root it. Then you can go ahead and install Market Place.

Here’s some Pictures of my Coby Kyros.

Click on picture to view larger images.

I can’t say enough about the Coby Kyros it really is great for it’s price point.

At night I lay in bed and read, surf the nets. Even monitor my security cameras on it and I have even used teamviewer to troubleshoot a PC. And can keep it on my livingroom coffee table so I can continually monitor my emails and have all my messengers running Skype,MSN &AOL.

Not to forget Angry Birds it’s a blast to play on a 8″ screen and it plays smoothly.

Since this post I have gotten a few replies that there is no longer any listing of rooting the Kyros I do apologize for this incorrect post regarding the rooting of the MID8024.

8 thoughts on “The Coby Kyros MID8024 Tablet

  1. Hello

    I bought the same tablet here in Romania and it comes with Alldro2 name. I searched the Coby website about rooting but I did not find anything. Can you please provide a link?

    Like

  2. Early on there was a link on thier website for rooting the Coby Kyros MID7000 series after getting an email stating they no longer see any rooting info I investigated to find out that he is correct. There is nothing there to help with rooting any Kyros.

    But all is not lost there are other great places to investigate and read.

    take a look at:

    http://androidforums.com/coby-kyros-mid8024/

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/coby-tablets/14573-rooting-kyros-mid8024-tablet.html

    Keep in mind I have not rooted my Kyros so do so at your own risk!
    Also I have not been through any of these forums to search for the rooting procedure so this would have to be something you search for yourself.

    Like

  3. Hello,
    Can you pull OS image from your MID8024, I need OS image to restore my tablet.
    waiting for your reply in both cases (tiht20@gmail.com)
    Thanks for your time.

    Like

  4. I purchased brand new Kyros™ MID8024 Tablet few months ago, i surprised that Camera of brand new Coby MID8024 doesn’t work and secondly it charger/adopter is also not working. I purchased a new adopter from Hong Kong. i am overseas and Company response was also disappointing. I found this tablet very very slow and I just wasted my Money. . How defected item passed from this QA test is important question? Before buying this product, i advice you to read user reviews of COBY Tablet MID8024 and think many times.

    Some other guys are also facing same problem, see the link below

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/coby-tablets/19449-coby-kyros-camera-not-working.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

