Nvidia 177.83 & PhysX

Appers that owners of geforce 8 and above can now use PhysX acceleration. People with the hardware PhysX cards are still ok as well the cards still work from what I can tell Nvidia makes better drivers than the physX team did. I get much better performance out of my PhysX card than I did prior to Nvidia purchasing PhysX.
New drivers version 177.83 install video and Physx at one time allowing you to change from physX card acceleration or video card acceleration in the nvidia control panel.
There were earlier versions of drivers that did this as well but only supported the Geforce 200 series of cards as of 177.83  8, 9, 200 series are all supported.
I went into the control panel and selected my PhysX card as the card to use and also was able to apply the video card to use as an alternative.
This link http://www.wegame.com/watch/NVIDIA_PhysX_Particle_Fluid_Demo/  This video was recorded on a machine running an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512 graphics card with Forceware 177.83 drivers and PhysX 08.08.01.

A tech demo based on particle fluids for NVIDIA’s GPU-accelerated PhysX technology.

This video was recorded on a machine running an NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512 graphics card with Forceware 177.83 drivers and PhysX 08.08.01.

 I added the Water particle demo in Public folder and in the drivers folder located in the public folder for anyone to try.

Here is a site to download the drivers that support Geforce 8 and above cards. http://www.nvidia.com/content/forcewithin/us/index.html

The demos that are included in the drivers are from the original physX team they apper to run better with the physX card than using the Geforce card.

So I installed the Nvidia Fluid demo made by Nvidia and you can probably guess that demo runs better using the geforce physX than using the PhysX hardware.

For a real time test I used Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 which has Ageia Island as a special add on map for Ageia PhysX card owners. Nvidia claims that all Ageia physX games will work with the Nvidia cards by default with the new drivers.I did not use any type of frame rate test I just enabled the physX card and played then disabled the PhysX card and enabled Nvidia PhysX.

With the PhysX card it did run very smooth with PhysX hardware mode set to extreme in game. I then used Nvida Physx enabled and noticed I did get lag that was not present using the PhysX card. If I were running SLI I would have to wonder which woud be better but due to me only having 1- 8800 GTS and not 2 I do not think it is a fair comparison at all. 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a Reply

